I’m Glad You’re Doing What You Love

I grew up in Small Town, USA – otherwise known as Madison, Indiana.  It’s a town I love.  It’s the town where I went to high school, and during my time there I took several Advanced Placement classes in various subjects, which challenged me to think analytically.  I also took a handful of art classes, and in a addition to that, I was in the Drama Club where I appeared in a number of plays and musicals.  That environment was a crucible for inspiration and goal-setting, and I look back on those days as the days that equipped me for the much less glamorous work I do from day-to-day in the film/TV world.

Both of those strands – the AP and art courses – were under some sort of threat of extinction at one point during the last school year.  Thankfully, they survived several budget cuts.

So I find it ironic that my former art teacher and theatre director, Mr. Aaron Kelsey, will teach an AP Art History course this coming school year.  I consider that poetic justice.

Mr. Kelsey – or MK as his pupils call him – is here in Chicago this week for AP training in order to teach this upcoming course.  I was fortunate enough to join him for dinner tonight and we caught up and reminisced and pondered the future, and at the end of the encounter we shook hands and he said, “I’m glad you’re doing what you love.”

…which reminds me – all the unglamorous, frustrating, illegal, oftentimes thankless work I do “in the industry” – it’s all a part of doing what I love.  I definitely don’t love parts of it.  But I love the big picture, the possible trajectory, the suspense.  And I’m thankful MK reminded me of that with a simple gesture.  After all, he’s one of the reasons why I’m doing it in the first place.

*****

Aaron Kelsey recently received a Teacher Creativity Grant from the Eli Lilly Foundation.  He used the grant to travel around the country researching the life and work of his hero, Walt Disney.  His trip was chronicled and can be viewed at his blog.  I invite you to subscribe to the blog and continue his journey through Life Lessons Learned from Walt Disney.

Lessons from Walt

About Collin Damon Welch
Collin worked in the film/TV industry for a while. Now he's pursuing ministry. He and his incomparably beautiful wife Nicole live in Chicago.

One Response to I’m Glad You’re Doing What You Love

  1. Liz B says:

    Such an inspiring post! What you love to do shouldn’t be defined by how much money, fame, or worldly desires you acquire but by how much fun it is to be doing something you love with all your heart. Thanks for this Collin!

Leave a Reply

